International Speech Contest Winners

International Speech Contest Toastmasters UK South

Every year members of Toastmasters around the world compete in the International Speech Contest. Members enter club contests to develop their skills as speakers. They hope to progress through to become our District International Speech Champion. Previous district winners are listed below. Our district winner goes on to compete in one of the world semi-finals.

The contest culminates at the Toastmasters International Convention when one of the winners from the semi-final stage becomes the World Champion of Public Speaking.


Year Contest winner Club World Championship
2018 Fabio De Sio
London Business School  
2017 Simon Bucknall
Excalibur  World Championship – 2nd place
2016 Thien Nguyen Phan
St Paul’s Speakers World semi-finals – 1st place
2015 Jeremy Robinson
NZICA Bank Speakers  
2014 Chris Boden Maidenhead Speakers  
2013 William Dempster HOD Speakers  
2012 Yvonne Jordan Enniscorthy Toastmasters World semi-finals – 3rd place
2011 Malachi Talabi Croydon Communicators World semi-finals – 3rd place
2010 Erick Rainey Manchester Orators  
2009 Gareth McHale North Avon Speakers  
2008 Sultan Nazir Rathfarnham Toastmasters  
2007 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals Inter-District – 2nd place
2006 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals  
2005 Erick Rainey Capital Communicators World Championship – 3rd place
2004 Erick Rainey Capital Communicators Inter-District – 2nd place
2003 Bob Harvey Bromley Speakers  
2002 Bob Ferguson Hertfordshire Speakers  
2001 Phillip Khan-Panni London Athenians  
2000 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Toastmasters Inter-District – 1st place
1999 Paul Ellis Lucan Toastmasters  
1998 Joseph Portley Crusaders Club  
1997 Brian Cluer Thurles Toastmasters  
1996 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Toastmasters  
1995 Phillip Khan-Panni Grosvenor Square Speakers World Championship – 2nd place
1994 Brian Cluer Thurles Toastmasters  
1993 Phillip Khan-Panni Bromley Speakers Inter-District – 1st place
1992 Adrienne Daly Naas Club  
1991 David Lindsey Thame Speakers  
1990 Giles Robinson Epsom Speakers  
1989 Muiris O’Keefe Bray Toastmasters  
1988 Patricia Foley Eblana Dublin City Centre Club  
1987 Michael Fennessy Grosvenor Square Speakers  
1986 Betty Gosnell Oxford Speakers  
1985 Marie Pyne Ennis Toastmasters World Champion of Public Speaking!
1984 Denis Vickers Thame Speakers  
1983 Ray Fullam Dublin Toastmasters  
1982 Stephen Johnson Mildenhall Toastmasters  
1981 Harry Knox Waterford Club  
1980 Dick Cullinane Waterford Club  
1979 Russ McDevitt Dun Laoghaire Club  
1978 Susan Cowles Oxford Speakers  
1977 David Lindsey Aylesbury Speakers  
1976 Bob Annenberg Aylesbury Speakers  
1974 Sean Hickey Shannon Club  
1973 George Brenner Shillelagh  
International Speech Contest Toastmasters UK South

District 91’s 2014 International Speech Champion, Chris Boden

Comments are closed.