Chris Murphy

Evaluation Speech 2020 Contest Winner

When I joined Toastmasters in June 2017, I just wanted to give speech after speech. However, one thing that struck me was your improvement is only as good as the feedback you receive. Feedback and specifically speech evaluations are a key but in my opinion an underrated part of the Toastmasters journey. The skill of delivering feedback in a way that helps the person develop both in terms of what they do well and what they can improve on is invaluable, no, it is vital.

I realised that giving effective evaluations was a skill, a skill you can hone. So, I worked on this. I evaluated every speech at our club. I read about evaluations. I went on workshops with notable figures in this world such as Freddie Daniells. Gradually I improved, I saw what I hadn’t seen before, the depth of my evaluations improved and as that grew so my passion and enthusiasm did too. It wasn’t an overnight transformation but steadily speech by speech my language changed, my evaluations changed and people’s reactions to my evaluations, yes they changed too, People wanted my input and so my foundations grew even stronger.

The power of listening

The success of active listening in Toastmasters clubs is based on a process of evaluations. We give feedback to each other on our speeches. We evaluate the roles we take in meetings. Every year we hold a speech evaluation contest, which allows members both to demonstrate their skills and allows them to keep learning and improving. Contestants observe a five-to seven-minute test speech and then present a two-to three-minute evaluation of the test speech. There are four levels to the contest, Club, Area, Division, and District, winners will progress through each level which ends at District level, where all the Division finalists will complete in the District Conference. Our Evaluation Contest winners come from across the District and are listed below.

Year Contest winner Club Division
2019-2020 Chris Murphy Tunbridge Wells Speakers H
2018-2019 James Cross Kings Cross Speakers C
2017-2018 Chinkata Okpara Excalibur Speakers L
2016-2017 Tazud Miah Early Bird Speakers C
2015-2016 Ga Lok Chung City of London, Kings Cross K
2014-2015 Alex de Jong Northavon Speakers A
Year Contest winner Club
2014 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals
2013 John Webber Solent Speakers
2012 Lynn Cantor Excalibur Speakers
2011 Chris Boden Maidenhead Speakers
2010 Jane Cameron Southside Speakers
2009 Simon Bucknall Excalibur Speakers
2008 Hilary Briggs Grosvenor Square Speakers
2007 Kate Atkin Anglia Communicators
2006 John Evans Thamesdown Speakers
2005 Bob Ferguson Excalibur Speakers
2004 Chris Cox Cambridge Speakers
2003 Janet Rose Maidenhead Speakers
2001 Ian Rees Maidenhead Speakers