Paola Podesta

Humorous Speech 2020 Contest Winner

Can you spin a good yarn?

Speaking with humour is a great skill, and every year clubs across the District hold a humorous speech contest. There are three further rounds: area contests, division contests, and the district final. The criteria are those for any good speech. The additional task for the speakers is to give a speech with a message presented with humour and must be thematic in nature with an opening, body, and close, not a monologue or series of one-liners.


Year Contest Winner Club Division
2019-2020 Paola Podesta London Olympians B
2018-2019 Daniel Magill Epsom Speakers H
2017-2018 Ola Aralepo Tube Talk C
2016-2017 Dallas Leigh-Martene London Olympians B
2015-2106 Selina Jones Aylesbury Speakers A
2014-2015 Tazud Miah Early Bird Speakers B
Year Contest Winner Club
2013 Brian Faulkner Speak Easy @Martlesham Speakers’ Club
2012 Tania West South West Speakers
2011 Ola Aralepo Tube Talk Toastmasters
2010 Adam Broomfield-Straun Arun Speakers
2009 Bob Ferguson Excalibur Speakers
2008 Michael Cronin Speakeasy, Cork
2007 Bev Avis-Dakin Spa Speakers
2006 Cole McInnes London Cardinals
2005 Gerry French Fingal Toastmasters Club
2004 Noreen McSweeney Muskerry Toastmasters
2003 Chris Cox Cambridge Speakers
2002 C. Blair Engineers Club
2001 Aileen Bennett London Corinthians
2000 Andrew Brammer Norwich Speakers
1999 Ray Cotter Lucan Club
1998 Siobhan O’Connor Castleknock Toastmasters Club
1996 David O’Keefe Cork
1995 Matt Lawlee Speakeasy, Cork
1994 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Club
1993 Liam Grimes Fingal Toastmasters Club
1992 Gerry Moran Kilkenny Club
1991 Mary O’Reilly Hellfire Club
1990 Noel O’Beara Fingal Toastmasters Club
1989 Niall Blake Ennis Toastmasters Club
1988 Ted Corcoran Fingal Toastmasters Club
1987 David Lindsey Thame Speakers