International Speech 2020 Contest Winner

Do you have what it takes?

Every year members of Toastmasters around the world compete in the International Speech Contest. Members enter club contests to develop their skills as speakers. They hope to progress through to become our District International Speech Champion. Previous district winners are listed below. Our district winner goes on to compete in one of the world’s semi-finals. The contest culminates at the Toastmasters International Convention when one of the winners from the semi-final stage becomes the World Champion of Public Speaking. Contestants present a five- to seven-minute speech on any subject they choose. All districts must conduct this contest.

District 91
Year Contest winner Club Division World Championship
2019-2020 Robin Sundstrom Holborn Speakers C
2018-2019 Sonia Aste Riverside Communicators B
2017-2018 Fabio De Sio London Business School L
2016-2017 Simon Bucknall Excalibur L World Championship – 2nd place
2015-2016 Thien Nguyen Phan St Paul’s Speakers L World semi-finals – 1st place
2014-2015 Jeremy Robinson NZICA Bank Speakers L
District 71
Year Contest winner Club Division World Championship
2013 William Dempster HOD Speakers
2012 Yvonne Jordan Enniscorthy Toastmasters World semi-finals – 3rd place
2011 Malachi Talabi Croydon Communicators World semi-finals – 3rd place
2010 Erick Rainey Manchester Orators
2009 Gareth McHale North Avon Speakers
2008 Sultan Nazir Rathfarnham Toastmasters
2007 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals Inter-District – 2nd place
2006 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals
2005 Erick Rainey Capital Communicators World Championship – 3rd place
2004 Erick Rainey Capital Communicators Inter-District – 2nd place
2003 Bob Harvey Bromley Speakers
2002 Bob Ferguson Hertfordshire Speakers
2001 Phillip Khan-Panni London Athenians Inter-District – 3rd place
2000 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Toastmasters Inter-District – 1st place
1999 Paul Ellis Lucan Toastmasters
1998 Joseph Portley Crusaders Club
1997 Brian Cluer Thurles Toastmasters
1996 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Toastmasters
1995 Phillip Khan-Panni Grosvenor Square Speakers World Championship – 2nd place
1994 Brian Cluer Thurles Toastmasters
1993 Phillip Khan-Panni Bromley Speakers Inter-District – 1st place
1992 Adrienne Daly Naas Club
1991 David Lindsey Thame Speakers
1990 Giles Robinson Epsom Speakers
1989 Muiris O’Keefe Bray Toastmasters
1988 Patricia Foley Eblana Dublin City Centre Club
1987 Michael Fennessy Grosvenor Square Speakers
1986 Betty Gosnell Oxford Speakers
1985 Marie Pyne Ennis Toastmasters World Champion of Public Speaking!
1984 Denis Vickers Thame Speakers
1983 Ray Fullam Dublin Toastmasters
1982 Stephen Johnson Mildenhall Toastmasters
1981 Harry Knox Waterford Club
1980 Dick Cullinane Waterford Club
1979 Russ McDevitt Dun Laoghaire Club
1978 Susan Cowles Oxford Speakers
1977 David Lindsey Aylesbury Speakers
1976 Bob Annenberg Aylesbury Speakers
1974 Sean Hickey Shannon Club
1973 George Brenner Shillelagh