Chris Murphy

Table Topics 2020 Contest Winner

Where do Table Topics come from?

From its beginning 90 years ago, Toastmasters International has encouraged its affiliated clubs to practice the art of impromptu speaking. In Toastmasters this is called Table Topics and is included in most club meetings. Like all public speaking skills, you get better with practice. That is why members are encouraged to join the table topics section of a club meeting. They’re encouraged to use their impromptu skills at work and elsewhere. They’re encouraged to enter contests to hone their skills even further.

All contestants are assigned the same topic, told them when the contest chair introduces them.

Year Contest Winner Club Division
2020 Chris Murphy Tunbridge Wells Speakers H
2019 Chris Boden Maidenhead Speakers J
2017 Mark Hanly Early Birds Speakers C
2016 Andrew Klimaytys Riverside Communicators B
2015 David T. Jones Holborn Speakers L
Year Contest Winner Club
2013 David T. Jones Holborn Speakers
2012 David T. Jones Excalibur Speakers
2011 James McGinty Chelmsford Speakers
2010 David T. Jones Excalibur Speakers
2009 Kevin Walsh Fermoy Toastmasters Club
2008 David T. Jones London Olympians
2007 John Kelly Thurles Toastmasters Club
2006 Patrick Sexton Speakeasy, Cork
2005 Sheila Merriman North Norfolk Speakers
2004 David T. Jones London Olympians
2003 Paul Carroll London Athenians
2002 Bill Russell London Corinthians
2001 Bob Harvey Bromley Speakers
2000 Alan Warner London Corinthians
1999 Bill Russell London Corinthians
1998 John Cronin Lucan Club
1997 Helen Heneghan Society Speakers
1996 Patrick Sexton Speakeasy, Cork
1995 William Horwood Oxford Speakers