Roz Etwaria Evaluation Contest Winner

Roz Etwaria

Evaluation Speech 2020/21 Contest Winner

Call me lazy, but the joy in evaluations is no prep. Rehearsals and trials is all the preserve of the mystery speaker.

I was pleased with winning the club contest. And was satisfied to be the Area winner. I was so enjoying myself, after all, it is a work-free zone!

Then came Division. I was excitedly looking forward to hearing what the other Area winners would say. Except, I was near the end. So, that little pleasure was null and void. Save the last speaker. But, I was delighted to win Division! Particularly representing Zig Zag Toastmasters, a fine club on the map.

I entered District contest with no expectations. And it was a tad frustrating being last! The speech fades with time moving on and my mind wanders all over the place. So, for a variety of reasons I was both shocked and elated at being District Champion! It just goes to show that life can be full of surprises.

The power of listening

The success of active listening in Toastmasters clubs is based on a process of evaluations. We give feedback to each other on our speeches. We evaluate the roles we take in meetings. Every year we hold a speech evaluation contest, which allows members to demonstrate their skills and to keep learning and improving. Contestants observe a 5-7 minute test speech and then present a 2-3 minute evaluation of the test speech. There are four levels to the contest, Club, Area, Division, and District, winners will progress through each level which ends at District level, where all the Division finalists will complete in the District Conference.

Our Evaluation Contest winners come from across the District and are listed below.

Year Contest winner Club Division
2020-2021 Roz Etwaria Zig-Zag Toastmasters A
2019-2020 Chris Murphy Tunbridge Wells Speakers H
2018-2019 James Cross Kings Cross Speakers C
2017-2018 Chinkata Okpara Excalibur Speakers L
2016-2017 Tazud Miah Early Bird Speakers C
2015-2016 Ga Lok Chung City of London, Kings Cross K
2014-2015 Alex de Jong Northavon Speakers A
Year Contest winner Club
2014 Simon Bucknall London Cardinals
2013 John Webber Solent Speakers
2012 Lynn Cantor Excalibur Speakers
2011 Chris Boden Maidenhead Speakers
2010 Jane Cameron Southside Speakers
2009 Simon Bucknall Excalibur Speakers
2008 Hilary Briggs Grosvenor Square Speakers
2007 Kate Atkin Anglia Communicators
2006 John Evans Thamesdown Speakers
2005 Bob Ferguson Excalibur Speakers
2004 Chris Cox Cambridge Speakers
2003 Janet Rose Maidenhead Speakers
2001 Ian Rees Maidenhead Speakers