Which clubs won the Smedley Award

Smedley Award Winners September 2020


Central London Toastmasters
Legacy Speakers Brixton
London Business School Public Speaking Club
Moody’s London
Shilling Speakers
Society Speakers
Spirited Speakers
Solent Speakers
Speakers of Croydon
West London Speakers

Will Your Club Win the Smedley Award?

Back in 1924 our founder, Ralph Smedley, set up the first Toastmasters club in Santa Ana, California.

Ralph’s dream was to build a network of Toastmaster clubs which would help members to find their voice, speak with confidence and become effective leaders.

Over the next few years, Toastmaster clubs started to pop up across the United States. In 1930, the first international club was opened in Vancouver, and today there are more than 16,000 Toastmaster clubs, in approaching 150 countries.

Over the course of its history, Toastmasters has helped more than 4 million members develop their communication and leadership skills.

Where do you come into the story?

Well, back in 1924, Ralph could not have built the organisation without help. He needed others to step forward. Members who realised that Toastmasters wasn’t simply about taking what you can get.

It was about commitment. It was about perseverance. It was about helping to shape the future of not only the organisation but of each and every person who walked through the door.

Toastmasters has always been about service, excellence and growth and the Smedley Award honour those exact qualities.

How does the Smedley Award work?

To win the 2020 Smedley Award for your club, you simply need to add 5 new, dual or reinstated members between August 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020.*

What can you win?

 Complete the challenge before September 30th and as well as seeing your club name up in lights, you’ll win:

  • A Smedley Award ribbon to display at your club meetings
  • A voucher for 10% off your next club merchandise order**

Plus, be one of the first 25 clubs to register 5 new, dual or reinstated members, and District 91 will reward you with £50 for your club.

What are you waiting for?

There’s no time to lose.

Start following in the footsteps of our illustrious founder, Ralph Smedley, today!

* Members transferring from another club to your club do not count toward your 5 members.

** 10% voucher is valid for 6 months from the date of issue