Humorous Speech Contest

Speaking with humour is a great skill. Every year clubs across the district hold a humorous speech contest. There are three further rounds: area contests, division contests and the district final.

The criteria are those for any good speech. The additional task for the speakers is to give a speech with a message that is presented with humour.

Year Contest Winner Club
2017 Ola Aralepo Tube Talk
2016 Dallas Leigh-Martene London Olympians
2015 Selina Jones Aylesbury Speakers
2014 Tazud Miah Early Bird Speakers
2013 Brian Faulkner Speak Easy @Martlesham Speakers’ Club
2012 Tania West South West Speakers
2011 Ola Aralepo Tube Talk Toastmasters
2010 Adam Broomfield-Straun Arun Speakers
2009 Bob Ferguson Excalibur Speakers
2008 Michael Cronin Speakeasy, Cork
2007 Bev Avis-Dakin Spa Speakers
2006 Cole McInnes London Cardinals
2005 Gerry French Fingal Toastmasters Club
2004 Noreen McSweeney Muskerry Toastmasters
2003 Chris Cox Cambridge Speakers
2002 C. Blair Engineers Club
2001 Aileen Bennett London Corinthians
2000 Andrew Brammer Norwich Speakers
1999 Ray Cotter Lucan Club
1998 Siobhan O’Connor Castleknock Toastmasters Club
1996 David O’Keefe Cork
1995 Matt Lawlee Speakeasy, Cork
1994 Brendan Toale Glasnevin Club
1993 Liam Grimes Fingal Toastmasters Club
1992 Gerry Moran Kilkenny Club
1991 Mary O’Reilly Hellfire Club
1990 Noel O’Beara Fingal Toastmasters Club
1989 Niall Blake Ennis Toastmasters Club
1988 Ted Corcoran Fingal Toastmasters Club
1987 David Lindsey Thame Speakers

Comments are closed.